Elephant’s Leg


CATCHING UP: PROFESSIONAL LIFE
Bangkok Post

Bangkok Post

The first item on the agenda is to fill in the gaps between September 2008 and September 2009, before I will start writing about more timely stuff, as and when it happens. I will be concise, because 12 months is a long time to chronicle, and will perhaps return to certain points in more detail at a later date.

I work for the Bangkok Post, the leading English-language newspaper in Thailand. I edit the stories, which are mostly written by Thai reporters. They write in English, to varying standards, but require native speakers to polish their work to native quality. It’s essentially the same role as a sub-editor on any newspaper back home, but with the added task of dealing with non-native English. Sometimes it’s easy, sometimes it’s difficult, but it’s a rewarding job with nice hours on a publication that has a good reputation and a nationwide readership. In that regard, it’s the best job I’ve had so far.

I started out on the national news  desk. This is the “front end” of the newspaper and therefore the most prestigious. It was a great start and also an invaluable experience for me in my formative months in Thailand, as it helped me get up to speed on Thai politics, business, geography and so on. It was a nightshift, which a lot of people don’t like, but which suited me because I’m not a morning person! Also it was nice to have the majority of the daytime to myself.

But six months later I was asked if I’d be interested in a move to the features department. The Real Time supplement, which covers arts and lifestyle, and Database, which covers IT, were short-staffed, so I agreed to the move, because while I did enjoy the newsdesk, I figured experience on other sections would further boost my CV. Furthermore, it’s a Monday-Friday role during normal office hours, which means I get normal weekends and evenings off. No, I still don’t like getting up in the mornings, but the upside is that my social schedule now falls in line with most other people’s – including my girlfriend’s.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

