Elephant’s Leg


CATCHING UP: TRAVEL
Ko Chang

Ko Chang

The first item on the agenda is to fill in the gaps between September 2008 and September 2009, before I will start writing about more timely stuff, as and when it happens. I will be concise, because 12 months is a long time to chronicle, and will perhaps return to certain points in more detail at a later date.

TRAVEL

Everyone who knows me will know how much I love to travel. The prospect of living and working abroad always excited me, and now I am doing it. I expected that living in Thailand would enable me to jet off to nearby Asian countries frequently, not to mention that Thailand itself is chock-full of attractive destinations.

Alas it has not been so. One side-effect of Maki’s sudden departure was that I was left paying her share of the rent for nine months of the 12-month contract she agreed to. Never mind. My finances are in better shape now. In my first year here, I only managed a couple of days in Singapore for visa purposes and one trip home to the UK. I hope to see a lot more from now on.

I have, however, taken a few domestic trips, although all within convenient reach of Bangkok – Pattaya, Hua Hin, Sri Racha, Ko Si Chang, Ayutthaya, Amphawa, Bang Saen, Ko Chang, Chachoengsao, Samut Prakan and Suphan Buri. My one attempt at a long-distance domestic trip – Krabi – since starting work was thwarted by last year’s occupation of Suvarnabhumi airport by anti-government protesters. Again, I also hope to see more of Thailand this year.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

